Being bullied, moving on from a relationship or receiving spam - there are plenty of reasons to block people on social media. But when you hit that button on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or WhatsApp, what exactly happens?
BBC Advice has more help and information if you are experiencing online bullying and abuse:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/344pq7cR0ydsDvP4kdqt51D/online-bullying
Subscribe to our channel: http://goo.gl/FHXbqA
Much more at http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bbcnewsbeat
Twitter: https://twitter.com/bbcnewsbeat
Instagram: https://instagram.com/bbcnewsbeat